Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, Gender Expression, and Sex Characteristics (SOGIESC)

Series: ADB Safeguard Policy Review and Update: Phase 2 Regional Consultations

Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, Gender Expression, and Sex Characteristics (SOGIESC)

06 June 2022 to 07 June 2022

via Zoom

6 June 2022, 5:00 p.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Pakistan (GMT +5) / 2:30 p.m. India (GMT +5:30) 
Consultation with Civil Society and Non-Government Stakeholders in South Asia and Central and West Asia 
 

7 June 2022, 10:00 a.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Fiji (GMT +12) 
Consultation with Civil Society and Non-Government Stakeholders in East Asia, Pacific, and Southeast Asia 
 

7 June 2022, 9:00 p.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 9:00 a.m. Washington DC (GMT –4) / 3:00 p.m. Frankfurt (GMT +2) 
Consultation with Civil Society Organizations and other Non-Governmental Stakeholders in North America and Europe 

This consultation will share preliminary findings from a benchmarking study on Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity and Expression, and Sex Characteristics (SOGIESC) which compares ADB's current policy environment and practices on the topic to those of other multilateral financial institutions.  

The session will seek feedback from stakeholders to help ADB understand where there are gaps and convergences in this area, and where it needs to go further in meeting evolving safeguards needs. The views and opinions received during the consultations will inform appropriate entry-points for SOGIESC and safeguards and linkages to safeguards needs of other potentially vulnerable groups. 

Program and Learning Materials: 

Disclaimer

The views expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) or its Board of Governors or the governments they represent. ADB does not guarantee the accuracy of the data included in this publication and accepts no responsibility for any consequence of their use. By making any designation of or reference to a particular territory or geographic area, or by using the term “country” in this document, ADB does not intend to make any judgments as to the legal or other status of any territory or area.