Gender and Safeguards

Series: ADB Safeguard Policy Review and Update: Phase 2 Regional Consultations

Gender and Safeguards

24 May 2022 to 27 May 2022

via Zoom

24 May 2022, 10:00 a.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Fiji (GMT +12) 
Consultation with Civil Society and Non-Government Stakeholders in East Asia, Pacific, and Southeast Asia 
 

24 May 2022, 9:00 p.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 9:00 a.m. Washington DC (GMT –4) / 3:00 p.m. Frankfurt (GMT +2) 
Consultation with Civil Society and Non-Government Stakeholders in North America and Europe 
 

26 May 2022, 5:00 p.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Pakistan (GMT +5) / 2:30 p.m. India (GMT +5:30) 
Consultation with Civil Society Organizations and other Non-Governmental Stakeholders in South Asia and Central and West Asia  
 

27 May 2022, 10:00 a.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Fiji (GMT +12) 
Consultation with Government Stakeholders in East Asia, Pacific, and Southeast Asia 
 

27 May 2022, 5:00 p.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Pakistan (GMT +5) / 2:30 p.m. India (GMT +5:30) 
Consultation with Government Stakeholders in South Asia and Central and West Asia  

ADB’s Strategy 2030’s operational plan for priority two on accelerating gender equality makes specific reference to strengthening gender elements in social safeguards and core labor standards, as well as addressing risks of sexual exploitation, abuse and harassment (SEAH) in ADB-financed projects.  These consultations aim to share preliminary findings from a benchmarking study on Gender and Safeguards which looked at how comparator multilateral financial institutions (MFIs) are addressing gender issues in their respective safeguard frameworks.  

Stakeholders are encouraged to share their insights and experiences to help ADB understand where there are potential gaps and convergences in this area, and where it needs to go further in meeting evolving safeguards needs. Feedback received during the consultations will further inform recommendations of the analytical study on gender and safeguards and linkages to the intersectional safeguards needs of women within other potentially vulnerable groups.  

Program and Learning Materials: 
Date Session / Activity Presentation Material Speaker(s)
24 May 2022 Presentation ADB Safeguard Policy Review and Update: Gender and Safeguards
Azim Manji, Bruce Dunn, Madhumita Gupta

Disclaimer

The views expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) or its Board of Governors or the governments they represent. ADB does not guarantee the accuracy of the data included in this publication and accepts no responsibility for any consequence of their use. By making any designation of or reference to a particular territory or geographic area, or by using the term “country” in this document, ADB does not intend to make any judgments as to the legal or other status of any territory or area.