Country Safeguard Systems

Series: ADB Safeguard Policy Review and Update: Phase 2 Regional Consultations

Country Safeguard Systems

04 April 2022 to 06 April 2022

via Zoom.

4 April 2022, 10:00 a.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Fiji (GMT +12)
Consultation with Government Stakeholders in East Asia, Pacific, and Southeast Asia
 

4 April 2022, 5:00 p.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Pakistan (GMT +5) / 2:30 p.m. India (GMT +5:30)
Consultation with Government Stakeholders in South Asia and Central and West Asia

 

5 April 2022, 10:00 a.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Fiji (GMT +12)
Consultation with Civil Society Organizations and other Non-Governmental Stakeholders in East Asia, Pacific, and Southeast Asia

 

5 April 2022, 10:00 p.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 10:00 a.m. Washington DC (GMT –4) / 4:00 p.m. Frankfurt (GMT +2)
Consultation with Civil Society Organizations and other Non-Governmental Stakeholders in North America and Europe

 

6 April 2022, 5:00 p.m. Manila (GMT +8) / 2:00 p.m. Pakistan (GMT +5) / 2:30 p.m. India (GMT +5:30)
Consultation with Civil Society Organizations and other Non-Governmental Stakeholders in South Asia and Central and West Asia

 

This consultation on Country Safeguard Systems will present and discuss the issues relevant to applying and use of DMC’s own environmental and social safeguard policies in ADB-financed projects. It will look at various stakeholder recommendations on striking a balance between practical approaches to conducting equivalency assessments and designing strategies to allow DMCs to raise their own environmental and social frameworks and capacities which would subsequently allow them to apply for the full use of country systems in projects.

Disclaimer

The views expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views and policies of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) or its Board of Governors or the governments they represent. ADB does not guarantee the accuracy of the data included in this publication and accepts no responsibility for any consequence of their use. By making any designation of or reference to a particular territory or geographic area, or by using the term “country” in this document, ADB does not intend to make any judgments as to the legal or other status of any territory or area.